Egnyte allows employees, teams and partners to collaborate on project files using online shared folders.
File Collaboration Collaborate with Colleagues, Partners and Clients
Project collaboration often becomes derailed when multiple users and multiple versions are thrown into the mix. It's difficult to track file versions and histories through emails, especially across multiple collaborators.
Egnyte provides a wide variety of file collaboration controls and features:
File versioning ensures that when a change is made to a file stored in Egnyte, a newer version is automatically created and added to the folder containing the earlier version. File versions include a timestamp and the name of the user who made changes to the file. Instead of simply overwriting an existing file, file versioning maintains a complete document history for auditing file changes made over time and preventing accidental deletions. Administrators can also decide how many versions are retained at any time.
When accessing files, the system will automatically lock files when users open them for editing. In addition, users can manually lock and unlock files. Once a file is checked out (or locked), other users can view the file but cannot edit or upload changes. This helps eliminate file versioning issues caused by users updating the same version.
Egnyte WebEdit allows users to access, share, edit and save files in their native applications all from the Web UI. Users simply select a file from the Web UI, and it automatically opens into its native application. Changes you save will automatically appear in the cloud as a new version, eliminating the need to download and upload changes manually.
File annotations give users the ability to enter comments on files. This is a valuable tool to support team collaboration by allowing users to capture contextual information as it pertains to a particular file.
Instead of digging through numerous files within a folder to understand what that folder contains, users can now add descriptions to each folder to describe its purpose and content. This helps teams organize files and get other users up to speed on what each folder contains.
File Change Notifications
Notifications are automatically triggered when new files are added to a specific folder or when existing files are changed. Notifications are sent out to all users who have access to that particular file, indicating who changed the file and the time of the change. These notifications provide teams with a seamless workflow for changing a file without having to spend time manually sending emails or communicating the updates to colleagues. Users can easily modify if and when they receive notifications.