Egnyte Connect for Desktop 3.0: Design Meets Functionality

The first thing most of us notice after a major software update is a completely redesigned user interface. However, a new user experience is typically the result of a shift in product focus.

In version 2.0, our primary focus was on intelligent data retrieval. The idea was to allow users to work on any file in the same way they would for files stored on their machine(s). The desktop app would determine the best location to fetch accessed files and optimize speed based on the user’s network profile.

In 3.0, we focused on making it easier for users to understand and use the product, as well as give admins even more control of devices.

A new look

Enhancing the user interface was one of our key priorities and we considered typical user behavior throughout the redesign process. We wanted to clearly display new capabilities and make it easier for users to find the most important content as quickly as possible.

For example, it’s common to return to or share a file that you recently worked on. Our new ‘recently uploaded’ view displays a list of recently edited files, so you can open or share them without having to navigate.

Egnyte Connect for Desktop 3.0: Design Meets Functionality - Egnyte Blog

We also created a consistent experience for both Windows and Mac, making it easier to onboard users in environments with both operating systems.

Egnyte Connect for Desktop 3.0: Design Meets Functionality - Egnyte Blog

Improved device management

When it comes to device control, there are two problems that every admin needs to consider:

  1. Ensuring that access only happens on approved devices
  2. Having the ability to remove sensitive data from devices that are lost or stolen

Limiting access to approved devices is becoming increasingly important for businesses in every industry. With device entitlement, admins can define a list of AD domains that are ‘whitelisted’ for access. Users can only add drives from devices that are AD-joined to a specified domain.

Egnyte Connect for Desktop 3.0: Design Meets Functionality - Egnyte Blog

In the event that a device is lost or stolen, version 3.0 enables admins to trigger a remote wipe for that user/device. After triggering a remote wipe from the device dashboard, all content, metadata and user data will be deleted from the specified machine when the next connection is made to Egnyte. This is done without warning to avoid alerting a person with malicious intent.

Egnyte Connect for Desktop 3.0: Design Meets Functionality -Egnyte Blog

We’re really excited about the latest Egnyte Connect for Desktop updates and look forward to improving user workflows across the board. Download Egnyte Connect for Desktop for Windows and Mac to see all the new capabilities in action.

Get started with Egnyte today

Explore the best secure platform for business-critical content across clouds, apps, and devices.

Share this article
Author
Kashyap Uppuluri

View All Posts
Tags
No items found.
Don’t miss an update

Subscribe today to our newsletter to get all the updates right in your inbox.

By submitting this form, you are acknowledging that you have read and understand Egnyte's Privacy Policy

Thank you for your subscription!

Welcome to
Egnyte Blog

Product and Company Updates
Customer and Partner Updates
Life at Egnyte
Industry Insights
Contact Support